Plenty Sweet Life

Grandma's Recipes One By One!

Chocolate Rose Cake

on March 14, 2016

Today is my mom’s birthday! And that means only one thing – chocolate birthday cake. This year I went with a chocolate cake mix for the cake. I know, I know, it’s shocking that I used a mix. My kids were absolutely flabbergasted!!! But we went to celebrate a bit early over the weekend, and this was going to be a busy day – we painted her living room, dining room, and entry. In addition to that, we brought birthday dinner, presents, and cake! Birthdays were always a big deal to my mom and therefore, her children, and grandchildren, too. This is a photo of the birthday girl when she was about 8 years old. It’s so cute – I just love it!

68

I don’t know if she was a chocolate fanatic when she was this age, but she sure is now! This birthday cake should satisfy her never-ending craving for chocolate. There can’t possibly be a more chocolaty cake and frosting than this one. I’ve been making this fudgy frosting for a few years, and I’m so sorry, but I can’t remember where I found the recipe. You can find a tutorial for making the roses on the blog iambaker.net.

Here is the recipe as I made it:

Chocolate Rose Cake

For cake:

Two layers of chocolate cake, either using a mix or the recipe of your choice.

For Chocolate Frosting:

3 sticks butter, melted

2 cups cocoa

8 cups powdered sugar

1/3 cup milk

1 Tablespoon vanilla

Melt butter and stir in cocoa.

Alternately add powdered sugar and milk.

Beat on medium speed.

Add more milk, if needed.

Stir in vanilla.

Makes about 6 cups.

This needs to be a bit stiff for the roses.

I used a Wilton 1M tip and a disposable piping bag to make the roses.

012

Use strips of waxed paper under the bottom layer to keep the plate (or in this case, the cardboard) clean when frosting the cake.

017

After using some of the frosting as a filling between the layers, put on a thin layer of frosting covering the entire cake. This helps the roses stick to the frosting instead of the cake, which has crumbs on the surface, making the roses likely to fall off.

021

I always keep a package of disposable piping bags in my cupboard, because I hate to clean out the plastic re-useable bags. Cut the tip of the bag large enough for putting the tip into without popping it out of the hole.

020

Put in your frosting, twist the top shut, and off you go. You can always practice on a plate or piece of parchment paper first, so you can get used to the feel of the bag.

036

Make the roses as big or as small as you want and just fill the surface with roses. Don’t forget to remove the waxed paper before serving! If you want to know how to make the pretty glass pedestal, you can check my post about that here.

038

If you find that you have some holes, just fill in with frosting any way you can. This really isn’t very hard to do, and it’s so beautiful and so special.

004

It went over well – it was a big day and we were pretty tired after all of the painting, but no body, especially my mom, was too tired for cake. This cake is so beautiful and chocolaty and fudgy – just perfect for the special chocoholic in your life! Happy Birthday, Mom!!

 

 

 

2 responses to “Chocolate Rose Cake

  1. […] intention was to make this a Rose Cake, but this was a double batch of the frosting and I didn’t have quite enough to put roses on […]

  2. […] some other recipes I’ve posted. The ridiculously delicious Prune Cake is a great one, or the Chocolate Rose Cake for the chocoholic mom, or even the luscious Lemon Dessert #2. There are so many desserts and cakes […]

Leave a Reply

Passion 4 baking

Jeg blogger om min passion for baking og matlaging og allt det spennende man kan finne på i kjøkkenet med kaker, cupcakes, cakepops og ulike frostinger

Cooking Without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

Pinch of Yum

A food blog with simple and tasty recipes.

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

eASYbAKED

a collection of recipes

