Plenty Sweet Life

Grandma's Recipes One By One!

Chicken-Noodle Soup with Vegetables

on April 20, 2016

The recipe for today is from my old Betty Crocker Cookbook, copyright 1978, and is one of the stand-by recipes that I have used many times over the years. It’s amazing that something with such simple ingredients can be so darn tasty. My husband was recently sick with what sure sounded like pneumonia to me (although the Dr. didn’t say so), and it was time to try out the scientifically proven fact that chicken soup can, indeed, help you feel better when you’re sick.

Before I finish my story, I have to share this adorable photo of my adorable husband who is already running to get his golf ball after whacking it with that club! He looks like he’s about 2 years old here – what a cutie!

Paul running with golf club

Love the fuzzy hair and the baby buggy in the background! It looks like whoever took the photo was interrupting his game, and that’s a no-no (as we all we all well know from playing games with him now)! Ok – back to the chicken soup story . . .

While sitting across the room from my husband when he was sick, I was able to hear what sounded like a very loud crackle coming from him when he breathed. He was miserable and had already been on 3 medications for a couple of days, but this didn’t sound good to me and it was time to take action. Off to the kitchen to make a pot of this Chicken-Noodle Soup with Vegetables. He needed all the help he could get!

Here is recipe as I made it:

Chicken-Noodle  Soup with Vegetables

2 1/2 pound broiler-fryer chicken, cut up (for this batch I used 3 chicken breasts)

1 quart water

4 medium carrots, cut into 1/2 inch slices (about 2 cups)

4 medium stalks celery, cut into 1/2 inch slices (about 2 cups)

1 small onion, sliced (this isn’t in the original recipe, but I always put it in, along with, sometimes, 1/2 cup of frozen peas)

1 Tablespoon salt

1 Tablespoon monosodium glutamate, optional (I never use this)

1 teaspoon sugar

1/4 teaspoon pepper

3 chicken bouillon cubes (if using these, omit the above mentioned 1 Tablespoon of salt – it is plenty salty)

2 cups uncooked thin egg noodles (I couldn’t find thin noodles, so I used medium)

Heat all ingredients except noodles to boiling in a 4 quart Dutch oven; reduce heat.

Cover and simmer until chicken is done about 45 minutes.

Skim fat if necessary.

Cook noodles as directed (I don’t cook the noodles first – I just put them into the broth when the chicken is removed).

Remove chicken from broth and cool slightly.

Cut chicken into 1 inch pieces.

Add chicken and noodles to broth; heat until hot, about 5 minutes.

009

Here are the very simple ingredients.

013018

Here’s the chicken – into the pot – and out of the pot and cut up.

025

This soup is incredibly easy and incredibly good!

027

It worked! It helped! My husband is finally on the mend and I’m going to take credit for it. Never mind that he had to take those 3 medications. My prescription for colds, flu, pneumonia, and any other ailments (physical or mental) – a big pot of this soup. It will make you feel so much better, in so many ways.

 

 

One response to “Chicken-Noodle Soup with Vegetables

  1. Susan J :o) says:

    Glad Paul Is feeling better. The old homemade remedies still work !

Leave a Reply

Passion 4 baking

Jeg blogger om min passion for baking og matlaging og allt det spennende man kan finne på i kjøkkenet med kaker, cupcakes, cakepops og ulike frostinger

Cooking Without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

Pinch of Yum

A food blog with simple and tasty recipes.

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

eASYbAKED

a collection of recipes

