Plenty Sweet Life

Grandma's Recipes One By One!

Tater Tot Hotdish

on April 25, 2016

The recipe for today is an old stand-by in our family. Believe it or not, it’s another one that came from my 7th grade Home Ec class!! It’s such an easy thing to start with when you’re first learning to cook. Maybe that has something to do with it being everyone’s favorite. Tater Tot Hotdish is a recipe that everyone HAS to have, and I’m sure most people do, but I just had to share this one for this oh so important comfort food. I don’t know how people can get by without it. It’s tasty, it’s comforting, it’s easy to do, it’s just the BEST!!!

Here is the recipe as I made it:

Tater Tot Hotdish

Brown in skillet:

1 pound ground beef or turkey

1 small onion, chopped

Add:

1 can of cream soup (mushroom or celery)

Place in bottom of casserole dish:

1 can vegetables (corn, beans, mixed – I sometimes like to add a 1/2 cup of frozen peas)

Place on top of that:

ground beef mixture

Top with:

2-3 cups Tater Tots

Bake at 350 degrees for 30-45 minutes.

007

This recipe is all about layering starting with the ground beef, onion, and soup mixture. Oops! I put the meat in first on this one! Any way you layer it, it will still be delicious!

009011

Next is the can of vegetables. I just HAVE to add frozen peas – it’s all about the color for me.

013014

Last, but definitely not least, the tots – baked until they’re golden brown and crispy.

021

OMG. Now that’s a thing of beauty.

016

Everybody just HAS to have this recipe, so I just HAD to have it on the blog. You just can’t beat those old Home Ec recipes – they’re just so good. This is one of my all time favorites and I just love it, whether I need comforting or not. What’s your favorite comfort food?

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Passion 4 baking

Jeg blogger om min passion for baking og matlaging og allt det spennende man kan finne på i kjøkkenet med kaker, cupcakes, cakepops og ulike frostinger

Cooking without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

Pinch of Yum

A food blog with simple and tasty recipes.

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

eASYbAKED

a collection of recipes

