Plenty Sweet Life

Grandma's Recipes One By One!

Pork Roast

on May 2, 2016

The recipe for today comes from my sister-in-law. She’s a great cook and served this Pork Roast for dinner when we were at their house years ago, and we all loved it. I coerced the recipe from her and boy, am I glad I did! This is such a tasty way to make pork roast, which can sometimes be just a bit bland. I love that you can get this ready the night before and the next day all you have to do is put it into the oven. You know how I love those things you can make ahead of time. You’re going to want to try this one!

Here is the recipe as I made it:

Pork Roast

Mix together:

1 Tablespoons flour

1 Tablespoons dry mustard

1 teaspoon ground ginger

1 teaspoon dried thyme

1 clove garlic, minced

1/2 cup soy sauce

1/2 cup orange juice

Put all in baking bag (I use a zip top bag) with 2-3 pound pork roast (I used a 2 1/2 lb. pork loin roast) overnight in refrigerator, turning now and then.

Bake at 325 degrees for 2-2 1/2 hours (2 1/2 hours was just right for this size roast).

You can also do this in the crockpot.

Sauce:

1 1/2 teaspoon soy sauce

1 Tablespoon orange juice

5 ounces red currant jelly

Warm until jelly is melted.

Serve over or on the side of the pork roast.

058

I put all of the marinade ingredients into a zip top bag, close the top, and knead the outside of the bag to mix it all together.

059062

Put the roast into the bag, zip it shut, and put it into the refrigerator overnight. I also put it into a bowl or container in case of leaks – not that I have any experience with that happening or anything.

012

The next day, it’s time to roast the pork. I put the marinade into the pan, too, but you don’t need to. The marinade dries up (don’t be shocked – it turns black but smells so good roasting), but I think it does keep the pork moist.

036

The pork does come out moist and perfect, and the time given for roasting is right on.

043

What a special meal – a baked potato, some frozen corn on the cob (still left from last summer), and the amazingly delicious sauce with the pork.

044

You really should try this recipe. It’s melt in your mouth delicious, and special enough for a special occasion, but it’s so incredibly easy to do! I highly recommend it. You guests will love it, and rave about it, and take pictures of it. My family sure loves it!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Passion 4 baking

Jeg blogger om min passion for baking og matlaging og allt det spennende man kan finne på i kjøkkenet med kaker, cupcakes, cakepops og ulike frostinger

Cooking without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

Pinch of Yum

A food blog with simple and tasty recipes.

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

eASYbAKED

a collection of recipes

