Plenty Sweet Life

Grandma's Recipes One By One!

Eggs Benedict

on May 13, 2016

Eggs Benedict is another one of my family’s favorites. I’m posting this recipe because I know my kids will want to know how to make this. It’s so good, but so ridiculously easy to do. When my husband and I were dating, we went to a certain restaurant once in a while to have their Eggs Benedict. The hollandaise sauce was so good, we asked how they made it. Did they make it from scratch? Nope – it was a mix and the server told us what the mix was!! This is actually a bit of a cheat, but the mix is Knorr Hollandaise Sauce Mix. I don’t have a recipe for this, so I’ll just tell you how to make it.

Here is the recipe as I made it:

Eggs Benedict

Make hollandaise sauce according to the package instructions. For a little extra flavor, I do add a couple of teaspoons of lemon juice to it. You can certainly make your own hollandaise sauce from scratch, but I have to say I don’t really know why you would. Using this mix is easy and delicious.

Poach 6-8 eggs.

Toast as many halves of English muffins as you have eggs.

Have 6-8 slices Canadian bacon or ham ready.

Now you just assemble:

Start with the toasted English muffin halves on a plate (I usually serve 2 per person).

Next lay on a slice of Canadian bacon or ham (I usually don’t heat these up – you can warm them in a fry pan first and I have done that – it adds more flavor when the Canadian bacon is a bit browned, but I think the hot eggs and sauce warm them up just fine, and honestly, they aren’t on your plate long enough for it to matter much).

Then the poached eggs on top of that.

Top with the delicious hollandaise sauce and a sprinkle of paprika (I also used chives on this day).

027

It really helps to have the sauce and everything else ready so you can just assemble and serve. It takes a bit of timing to have everything hot and ready to go, but you’ll get it. It’s really not that hard. That just means you’ll have to keep making this until you get the assembly right. Oh well, you gotta do what you gotta do! If that means having this every weekend for a month or so, so be it.

029031

Believe it or not, I have a specific pan just for poaching eggs. It’s an old fry pan and for some reason, it just seems to work really well for this. Bring the water just to a simmer – not boiling – and add a tablespoon of vinegar or lemon juice to help the whites hold together. I break the eggs into a small bowl and slide them slowly into the simmering water and let them go until the yolks are of the desired firmness. I use a slotted spoon to remove the eggs from the water and then use a folded paper towel to dry it off a bit (leaving the egg on the spoon – just tap the bottom of the spoon gently onto the paper towel). If you’re particular about how the eggs look, you can also use the edge of the spoon or a table knife and trim off the ragged edges of egg white. You can also poach eggs earlier or even the day before and then warm them up again in more simmering water. I’ve never done that, but I’m sure it would be a bit of a time saver.

034

Here is one with the first 3 layers ready to go: English muffin half, Canadian bacon, and poached egg.

044

Just add the hollandaise sauce and garnish on top and that’s it! All stacked up and ready for serving! It’s so stinkin’ good and so beautiful and such an impressive breakfast or brunch dish. I have to also say that I was more than excited to use my own chives that are growing in my garden, and actually survived the Minnesota winter out there!!! Try this delicious breakfast/brunch dish – it’s not as hard as it looks. You’ll really be glad you did – and so will your family!!!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Passion 4 baking

Jeg blogger om min passion for baking og matlaging og allt det spennende man kan finne på i kjøkkenet med kaker, cupcakes, cakepops og ulike frostinger

Cooking Without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

Pinch of Yum

A food blog with simple and tasty recipes.

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

eASYbAKED

a collection of recipes

