Plenty Sweet Life

Grandma's Recipes One By One!

Chocolate Cookies

on May 17, 2016

This recipe is another one from the tiny book I found at my sister’s in January. I know I say this every time, but I can’t believe all of the great recipes that have been made from that little book!! Those recipes all make a nice small batch, just right for sharing with friends. The funny thing is that I remember Grandma telling of baking day and how they would make all the bread and baked goods for the week ahead. I would think if most families baked that way, they would have wanted to get as much done as possible on that one day. Maybe that’s the beauty of these smaller recipes – they could make a quick, small batch for a small group coming or for at the last minute. Here is another delicious one for Chocolate Cookies. It makes such a delicious, dainty cookie, just perfect with coffee or tea.

3

Here is the recipe as I made it:

Chocolate Cookies

Stiffly beat:

3 egg whites (not until dry)

Fold in:

1 cup powdered sugar, a little at a time

Then fold in:

1 cup graham crackers, crushed

1/2 cup pecans, chopped

1 teaspoon vanilla

Next fold in:

6 ounces of melted semi-sweet chocolate, after cooling slightly

Drop by spoonful onto buttered baking sheet (I used parchment paper and I was glad I did – after baking I just pulled the parchment sheet onto the cooling rack – they did stick a bit and are pretty fragile, so it was easier to peel them off of the paper than use a spatula).

Bake at 325 for 12-14 minutes.

021

Again – this uses pretty simple ingredients that you probably have around the house.

026028

All the folding is key here to keep the batter as fluffy as possible. When adding the chocolate, keep folding!

030

I made these pretty small, using just a couple of teaspoons.

033

I ended up with 31 cookies. Good thing I didn’t use my trusty scoop – I only would have gotten a dozen!!! Using the parchment paper really helped them come off the baking sheet easily.

048

These are dainty all right – and a bit fragile. I suggest you just go ahead and eat them all right away. They get a bit crumbly when stored.

053

I’d say that these cookies have just the right bite of chocolate. If you have to store them, they don’t really keep so well, so yes, I think it’s best to eat them. All of them. Go ahead and make these and see if  you don’t agree with me!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Passion 4 baking

Jeg blogger om min passion for baking og matlaging og allt det spennende man kan finne på i kjøkkenet med kaker, cupcakes, cakepops og ulike frostinger

Cooking without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

Pinch of Yum

A food blog with simple and tasty recipes.

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

eASYbAKED

a collection of recipes

