Plenty Sweet Life

Grandma's Recipes One By One!

Rhubarb Cream Delight

on May 20, 2016

This card had a bonus. The recipe for Rhubarb Cream Delight was on the top and on the bottom was a recipe that I shared last year called Rhubarb Crunch. The recipe for today calls for 4 cups of rhubarb (which is a lot when your plants aren’t so big) and since my rhubarb is a bumper crop this year, now is the time to do this one. I’m not sure why I have so much this year or why it’s so much bigger than it has been before, but I’m not complaining. I’m thrilled! This is a photo of one of my rhubarb bunches (I have 2!).

031

I love anything made with rhubarb and I never seem to have enough of it. I did split the plant a couple of years ago and gave some to a friend of mine who also loves rhubarb. Maybe that helped with the growth spurt, or maybe it was our mild winter. I might have to try to split them again – maybe next year. But for this year, I’m going to enjoy the abundance and use it up!

Rhubarb Cream Delight

This dessert is ridiculously good!

Here is the recipe as I made it:

Rhubarb Cream Delight

For the crust:

Mix together:

1 1/2 cup flour

3 Tablespoons sugar

3/4 cup margarine, softened (I used butter)

Pat into 9″ x 13″ pan.

Bake at 350 degrees for 20 minutes.

For the filling:

2 cups sugar

4 egg yolks, beaten, whites reserved

2/3 cup cream or evaporated milk

3 Tablespoons flour

1/2 teaspoon nutmeg

4 cups rhubarb, chopped

Cook and stir until thick (she has that you can use the microwave, too, but I wouldn’t – that’s just me).

Pour onto crust while hot.

Meringue:

the 4 reserved egg whites (I would maybe add 1-2 more egg whites because the meringue was a bit thin)

1/4 cups sugar

Beat until stiff peaks form.

Spread on top of filling.

Bake at 325 degrees for 15-20 minutes or until browned on top.

007012

This crust is a bit tricky to get into the pan – I used my hands to carefully pat it in.

009

The filling ingredients are so easy to just dump and mix.

018

Here we go – all ready for the meringue.

021024

It seems strange to put the meringue onto a filling that isn’t baked, and there isn’t a lot of meringue, so spreading it was a little tricky. I tried to make peaks like you would if making a pie, but there just isn’t enough of it. Next time I’d just spread it out. That’s why I would add an extra egg white or two to give yourself a bit more. That may affect the baking time just a bit so I’d give it an extra 5-10 minutes if you do add extra whites.

053

This crust seriously melts in your mouth and the filling is so luscious!

063

Put this one in your recipe arsenal – it’s so delicious! I may not have a ton of rhubarb every year, next time I’ll beg, borrow, or yes, steal more from neighbors, friends, and family just so I can make this again. You’ll want to make this every year, too! Your guests will be glad you did!!!

 

One response to “Rhubarb Cream Delight

  1. […] recipes for delicious treats like Rhubarb Cinnamon Coffee Cake, Rhubarb Bread, Rhubarb Muffins, Rhubarb Cream Delight, Rhubarb Crunch, Rhubarb Crunch #2, Orange Rhubarb Pie, Rhubarb Jam, Rhubarb Torte, and Rhubarb […]

Leave a Reply

Passion 4 baking

Jeg blogger om min passion for baking og matlaging og allt det spennende man kan finne på i kjøkkenet med kaker, cupcakes, cakepops og ulike frostinger

Cooking without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

Pinch of Yum

A food blog with simple and tasty recipes.

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

eASYbAKED

a collection of recipes

