Plenty Sweet Life

Grandma's Recipes One By One!

Everyday Cookies

on June 14, 2016

The recipe for today comes from my other grandma. I remember her making these cookies when I was in junior high. I got the recipe from her, and I’ve been making them ever since. I’m not sure why they’re called Everyday Cookies unless it’s because the ingredients are all things that you would more than likely have on hand so you could make them every day. I also like that this recipe makes a large batch, and you can make these and they would last awhile. That’s why these are a good summertime cookie. Make them once and put some in the freezer, then take them out again later when you need more of them. Which will probably be the next day. I mean, it’s all good in theory to put some of them in the freezer, but it won’t take long and you’ll be heading back to your freezer for the rest of them. I promise. You will. Just you wait and see!

14a

These cookies are so good!

Here is the recipe as I made it:

Everyday Cookies

Cream together:

1 cup white sugar

1 cup brown sugar

1 cup margarine (I used butter)

1 cup oil (I used canola oil)

Add the rest of the ingredients:

1 egg

1 teaspoon vanilla

1 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon baking soda

1 teaspoon cream of tartar

1 cup Rice Krispies

1 cup oatmeal

1 cup coconut

3 1/2 cups flour

1/2 cup nuts, chopped finely (I used walnuts)

Roll in balls and press with a glass dipped in sugar (I roll one ball, then wipe the bottom of the glass with my hand so the sugar will stick to the glass). You will find that you need to dip the glass in sugar for each cookie.

Bake at 350 degrees until light brown, about 12-15 minutes.

027

I used my trusty scoop to make these all about the same size, and yes, I would have gotten even more of them if I had just made them without the scoop. The scoop definitely makes them bigger. My boys don’t mind it when I use the scoop.

033

The cookies come out golden brown and absolutely delicious!

042

They have a crispy, sugary crust on the outside and they just melt in your mouth!

049

This cookie is ridiculously good, and are so great with afternoon coffee or tea. It’s good with morning coffee or tea, and it’s also good with evening coffee or tea. These cookies are just plain good, any time you eat them. Make a big batch of these delicious cookies and make summer baking easy on yourself. It’s a good thing this recipe does make a big batch, because you WILL want more of them, and because your family will want more of them, too! Just so you know, I DID put half of these in the freezer and guess what? They’ve disappeared. I told my husband and he said, “you’ll have to make more!” Um – who should make more? I say the person who sneaked all the cookies out of the freezer should be the one to make more. I’m still waiting . . .

 

 

 

 

 

2 responses to “Everyday Cookies

Leave a Reply

Passion 4 baking

Jeg blogger om min passion for baking og matlaging og allt det spennende man kan finne på i kjøkkenet med kaker, cupcakes, cakepops og ulike frostinger

Cooking without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

Pinch of Yum

A food blog with simple and tasty recipes.

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

eASYbAKED

a collection of recipes

