Plenty Sweet Life

Grandma's Recipes One By One!

Special K Bars or Rice Krispie Bars

on July 8, 2016

I have a real problem with the recipe for today. Special K bars have always been a total red light food for me. I don’t even think I should have made these, but oh well, I have to make all the recipes. This recipe comes from one of Grandma’s sisters, and it’s just a little bit different from the usual recipe for Special K Bars. These Special K Bars or Rice Krispie Bars have a couple of different ingredients added that makes them extra special. These are ridiculously easy to make, unfortunately for me. If I ever DID make Special K Bars growing up (and I couldn’t make them often because I just couldn’t stay away from them) it was during the summer. The smell of melting chocolate and butterscotch chips can just bring back those summer days at the lake back in a second! There’s something about that smell. Oh man. So good. I. Can. Not. Stop.

Special K or Rice Krispies Bars

Lord help me, I doubled this recipe!!!!

Here is the recipe as I made it:

Special K or Rice Krispie Bars

Combine in a saucepan:

1/2 cup sugar

1/2 cup white syrup

Bring to a boil.

Remove from heat.

Add:

1/2 cup salted peanuts

3/4 cup peanut butter

Mix in:

3 cups cereal (I used Rice Krispies)

1/2 cup coconut

For Frosting:

Melt:

1/2 package chocolate chips

1 package butterscotch chips

Mix and spread on top of bars.

Let frosting harden before cutting into squares.

Of course this batch didn’t look like very much to me, so I decided to double it and put them in a 9″ x 13″ pan. I used 1 package of chocolate chips and 1 package of butterscotch chips and there was plenty of frosting.

071

The two special ingredients – salted peanuts and coconut.

078

This was still so much frosting, and that makes it even MORE difficult for me to leave these alone!

080

I put the pan into the refrigerator to harden the chocolate. Make sure if you do this, you wait 5-10 minutes after taking it out to let it come to room temperature so the chocolate doesn’t crack. These did crack just a little bit.

095

Oh boy. Help me.

097

Luckily, these bars are already gone, and let me tell you, it may well be another 10 years or so before I will even attempt to make these again. I just can’t do it. They’re so easy to make and so addicting (for me, anyway) and so amazingly good and so peanutty and so chewy and so butterscotchy and so crispy and . . . aaagghhh!!!!!

 

Leave a Reply

Passion 4 baking

Jeg blogger om min passion for baking og matlaging og allt det spennende man kan finne på i kjøkkenet med kaker, cupcakes, cakepops og ulike frostinger

Cooking Without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

Pinch of Yum

A food blog with simple and tasty recipes.

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

eASYbAKED

a collection of recipes

