Plenty Sweet Life

Grandma's Recipes One By One!

Chocolate Chip Cookies – Made with Butterscotch Chips

on August 23, 2016

There have been high temperatures all over the country this summer, and Minnesota is no exception. While there are things we can do to take matters into our own hands and try to keep cool, one of my favorites is swimming and the other is ice cream. We’re going to look at both today. Here is a photo of my me and my mom from one summer when I was about 3 years old. Obviously we were keeping cool in my favorite way! I think you can tell that from the look on my face!

82

Now we’re going to look at my other favorite way to keep cool – cookies and ice cream – ice cream sandwiches. We’ll get to the part where we make the sandwiches at the end of the recipe. Ok – let’s face it – it’s no surprise that I love both swimming and ice cream sandwiches and I would never be able to choose which I like better. So let’s do both!

This is an old recipe of my mom’s and you can see that it’s well used. While my mom would never dream of using anything other than chocolate chips in this cookie recipe, I only had butterscotch chips when I was ready to make these Chocolate Chip Cookies. I don’t know if you know this about me yet, but I don’t always plan ahead for these recipes as well as I probably should, but that’s life. Sometimes you need to make something and you have to improvise!

chocolate chip cooies

Did I mention that this one is well used?!!!

Here is the recipe as I made it:

Chocolate Chip Cookies

Sift together:

2 cup plus 2 Tablespoons flour, sifted

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon salt

Add:

1/2 cup granulated sugar

1/4 cup firmly packed brown sugar

1 egg

1 teaspoon vanilla

1/2 cup butter, softened

Blend all ingredients.

Add:

1/2 cup nuts, chopped (I used pecans for this batch)

3/4 cup chocolate chips (I used butterscotch for this batch)

Bake at 375 degrees for 10-12 minutes or until golden brown.

DSCN6036

This makes a nice, small batch of cookies. I used my scoop and ended up with 22 cookies.

DSCN6052

Using the scoop makes the cookies pretty uniform in size.

DSCN6049

Ok – these are REALLY good!

DSCN6068

But now we’re going to make them even better. The only way we can make them better is to put a scoop of vanilla ice cream in the middle and make ice cream sandwiches out of them. Yes. Do it. Do it in the name of keeping cool. We’ve earned it this summer! Now we just have to find a lake . . .

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Passion 4 baking

Jeg blogger om min passion for baking og matlaging og allt det spennende man kan finne på i kjøkkenet med kaker, cupcakes, cakepops og ulike frostinger

Cooking without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

Pinch of Yum

A food blog with simple and tasty recipes.

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

eASYbAKED

a collection of recipes

