Plenty Sweet Life

Grandma's Recipes One By One!

BLT Sandwiches

on September 9, 2016

This is a classic for this time of year when tomatoes in our gardens are at their peak and you can just go right out there and pick a red beauty for a sandwich. BLT Sandwiches are one of my favorites and I wait all summer for the tomatoes to be ready to make them! The tomatoes I used for these particular sandwiches actually ARE from our garden (we took out 4 trees in our back yard and now there’s more sun in our garden to grow more tomatoes)!! I think most people know how to make these, and probably do every summer, but it can’t hurt to be reminded about this delicious sandwich. You can use fancy bread and fancy bacon for these, but my family just likes the good ol’ regular bread, bacon, tomatoes, lettuce, and mayonnaise. I love making these for a Sunday night supper, or any night supper, for that matter. This time of the summer, I think we could have these several times a week and never get tired of them! As my daughter said, “whoever came up with this combination was a GENIUS!!” I have to agree.

Here is the recipe as I made it:

BLT Sandwiches

Toast:

2 slices of your favorite bread

Spread with mayonnaise or salad dressing.

Add:

Tomatoes, sliced and topped with freshly ground pepper and a bit of salt to taste

Lettuce, broken into leaves

2 slices fried bacon

Cut in triangles (according to my family).

DSCN6137

The simple ingredients for these sandwiches are absolutely beautiful!

DSCN6142

I like to put a little freshly ground pepper on the tomatoes – what can it hurt? I do occasionally use a bit of salt, but usually the bacon is salty enough to flavor the tomato.

DSCN6151

It looks like there’s not a lot of lettuce on this sandwich, but I have found that the more lettuce you put on, the more slippery it all becomes. Put a toothpick in it if it helps to hold it all together. These can get a bit messy, but it’s soooooo worth it!

DSCN6167

Oh boy, I love these sandwiches. They’re a great way to end the summer using your own tomatoes (and lettuce, if you have it!). Don’t forget to make these for supper and use up your tomatoes before it’s too late!

 

One response to “BLT Sandwiches

  1. Susan says:

    LOVE these ! We like corn on the cob with them 😊

Leave a Reply

Passion 4 baking

Jeg blogger om min passion for baking og matlaging og allt det spennende man kan finne på i kjøkkenet med kaker, cupcakes, cakepops og ulike frostinger

Cooking without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

Pinch of Yum

A food blog with simple and tasty recipes.

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

eASYbAKED

a collection of recipes

