Plenty Sweet Life

Grandma's Recipes One By One!

Dark Bread

on October 14, 2016

I remember Grandma telling stories of making bread when she was growing up. They would make all the bread they would need for the week in just one day. It had to last the whole week until the next baking day. She made great homemade bread and so did my mom. This is my mom’s very well used recipe for Dark Bread. Both Grandma and my mom made bread the old-fashioned way – by kneading it. I have a big mixer so I usually just put on the dough hook, crank it up for 10 minutes, and we’re good to go. When I was first married couldn’t yet afford to buy the mixer, I would make bread quite often and do the same thing – knead it by hand. Well, I went old school for this bread and did it by hand – by kneading. It’s a great workout and I was sweating in no time. No wonder the women back in the day had such tiny waists!

dark-bread

dark-bread-2

This bread is absolutely delicious!

Here is the recipe as I made it:

Dark Bread

Combine:

1 1/2 cups boiling water

2 teaspoon salt

1 Tablespoon shortening (I used butter)

1 cup oatmeal

Let stand until lukewarm.

Dissolve in 3/4 cup warm water:

1 package dry yeast

Add to yeast mixture:

1/4 cup molasses (she says to add a little more – I just emptied the bottle – maybe 1-2 more tablespoons)

1/4 cup brown sugar

1 cup flour

Beat until smooth.

Combine with:

oatmeal mixture

4 cups flour

Mix well and knead until smooth (I kneaded it about 10 minutes).

Place dough in warm, greased bowl to rise about 2 hours.

Divide dough into 2 parts and knead slightly.

Cover completely and let rest 30 minutes.

Shape into loaves and let rise 1 hour.

Bake at 375 degrees for 40-50 minutes.

Makes 2 loaves.

dscn7597dscn7599

It seems like a lot of steps, but it’s really not that bad, and it’s SO worth it in the end.

dscn7601dscn7607

After dissolving the yeast in warm water, next mix in all the goodies and add it to the oatmeal mixture.

dscn7612dscn7615

After adding the first flour addition, start mixing in the rest of the flour  – you’ll need to use some muscle at this point.

dscn7619dscn7622

This is just kneading the dough together and getting the flour all mixed in. Next is what it looks like after 10 minutes of kneading (and sweating, in my case).

dscn7624dscn7626

Put it into the warm, greased bowl. 2 hours later and this is what it looks like.

dscn7629

I didn’t divide it until after it rested under the bowl for 30 minutes.

dscn7648dscn7674

I got one decent sized loaf and one smaller loaf because I made two tiny loaves to bring to mom and mother-in-law. It’s amazing how it rises and then even a little more after baking.

dscn7684

Here is the beautiful final product!

dscn7689

This bread has a nice crispy crust on the outside, while the inside is just so soft and delicious.

dscn7717

This is a great recipe. It takes a little time, but it’s so amazingly good. Go ahead and get your workout at home today – knead yourself some bread dough. Then you can have an extra piece. That’s how I look at it, anyway.

 

 

One response to “Dark Bread

  1. […] Ok – on to the bread. I’m putting it in the category of Retro Oddities, but this bread is anything but odd. It’s absolutely delicious! It’s a lot like, and just as delicious as, a few other bread recipes I’ve made, like Overnight Rye Bread or Dark Bread. […]

Leave a Reply

Passion 4 baking

Jeg blogger om min passion for baking og matlaging og allt det spennende man kan finne på i kjøkkenet med kaker, cupcakes, cakepops og ulike frostinger

Cooking Without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

Pinch of Yum

A food blog with simple and tasty recipes.

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

eASYbAKED

a collection of recipes

