Plenty Sweet Life

Grandma's Recipes One By One!

Caramel Candy

on November 11, 2016

This recipe for Caramel Candy came from a family friend years ago. I think I was in junior high school when I started making these caramels, and our family has made them ever since. I used to have the perfect candy-making pot, but it was non-stick and the inside started to get too beat up to keep using. It was orange (I’d had it since the 70’s) and I loved that pot. I haven’t found another one that keeps the temperature nice and even without scorching until this year. Last year for Christmas, my husband gave me a ridiculously expensive copper pot. I was not happy, but he was. WHO wants me to keep making candy (all the while talking about how we need to stop eating candy)? I would guess that it’s someone who gives people copper pots for gifts. Anywhoooo, I decided to give the new copper pot a try BEFORE the holiday season and see just how great this thing is gonna be. Well. It. Is. Amazing. The heat seemed to stay nice and even, and the syrup heated up pretty fast with no scorching. I have to admit that it works great. Ok, ok, I know. That means more candy making. I mean, I have to use the pot, right? It can’t just sit there looking all pretty and coppery, right?

caramel-candy

These caramels are amazingly delicious!

Here is the recipe as I made it:

Caramel Candy

Cook to hard ball:

2 cups sugar

2 cups dark corn syrup

Remove from heat and add:

1 cup butter

1 can sweetened condensed milk

Return to heat and cook to soft ball.

Pour into 9″ x 13″ pan lined with buttered foil.

When cool, flip upside down onto cutting board, cut into pieces, and wrap in waxed paper.

dscn7989

It’s really only necessary to lightly butter the foil.

dscn7986dscn7991

Here is the infamous copper pot, before and during boiling to hard ball! If you don’t have a candy thermometer, use the ice water method and drop a bit of caramel from a spoon into ice water to see how hard it gets. Does it turn into a soft ball of caramel or a hard ball of caramel?

dscn7993

The caramel seems like it will never cool. Sometimes I put it into the refrigerator for 10-15 minutes to help it cool down faster. Just don’t let it get too hard before cutting it.

dscn7997

Cut the pieces of waxed paper big enough to wrap the caramel candies in and still be able to twist the ends. You can find pre-cut wrappers online, but I just use a roll of waxed paper and cut my own.

dscn7998dscn8003

It’s easy to flip the caramel out of the pan. I put it onto another piece of waxed paper, just in case it would stick to the cutting board. Peel off the foil and you’re ready to cut. Use a large knife sprayed with non-stick cooking spray to cut the caramels into pieces. I think I could have cut these a bit smaller, but can you really ever have too much caramel?

dscn8007

Before wrapping, I sprinkled on a bit of sea salt crystals. Oh boy – you know, that sweet and salty thing?!!!

dscn8008dscn8010

This is about the right size to wrap and twist.

dscn8013

One pan makes a lot of candies, so you might want to recruit someone to help cut and wrap.

dscn8020

Oh wow. These are so good!

dscn8017

I have to admit that my new copper pot is wonderful, and I highly recommend you get one. These caramels are amazingly delicious and they make a great gift or hostess gift for the upcoming holidays. Make a batch and give it a try. It takes some time, but they really aren’t hard to make. I gave some of these to my friends, and I hid the rest from Mr. Copper Pot. Trust me, you have to hide them or they won’t last long!

 

 

Leave a Reply

Passion 4 baking

Jeg blogger om min passion for baking og matlaging og allt det spennende man kan finne på i kjøkkenet med kaker, cupcakes, cakepops og ulike frostinger

Cooking Without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

Pinch of Yum

A food blog with simple and tasty recipes.

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

eASYbAKED

a collection of recipes

