Plenty Sweet Life

Grandma's Recipes One By One!

Ginger Cookies #2

on November 29, 2016

I am trying another recipe from the tiny book I found at my sister’s house last winter. There hasn’t been a bad one in the bunch, and this one is no exception! These Ginger Cookies #2 are SO good! I’ve made a lot of ginger cookies in my day (hard to believe, isn’t it?), and these are my favorite so far. I really wanted to make these with lard and just see if there is a difference, but on the day I made these, I didn’t have any so I used butter. This recipe would be great to use for your Christmas ginger cutout cookies. They’re delicious.

7

These cookies are ridiculously good!

Here is the recipe as I made it:

Ginger Cookies #2

Cream together:

3/4 cup lard (I used butter)

1 1/2 cups sugar

2 eggs, beaten

Dissolve:

4 teaspoons baking soda in 3/4 cup molasses and 4 Tablespoons hot water

Add to creamed mixture.

Sift together:

1 cup flour

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon ginger

1 teaspoon cinnamon

Mix with rest of ingredients.

Add enough flour to make a soft dough (I added an additional 3 cups or so – start at 2 cups and go from there).

Roll out and cut with cookie cutters.

Bake at 375 degrees for 8-10 minutes or until done (no time or temperature on this one again!).

dscn7748

This dough didn’t stick much at all for me, so I didn’t have to use a lot of extra flour on the board even though it looks like a lot of extra flour here.

dscn7756

I used this old-fashioned cookie cutter because I’d been thinking of the big old molasses cookies that our landlady used to make. We lived in the upstairs of Hilda and Mike’s house when I was little. She would have me and my other grandma come for afternoon coffee where she would serve big cookies like this and Mike would slurp his coffee from his saucer (not his coffee cup) to cool it off faster.

dscn7757

The scraps rolled out just fine – I piled them up and used them together at the end.

dscn7754

I love the big crystals of sanding sugar that I used on these.

dscn7765

The scent of the spices in the air when these were baking – whoa!

dscn7777

These are PERFECT with a nice hot cup of something: coffee, tea, Hot Chocolate Mix, Russian Tea, Viennese Coffee, Instant Cappuccino Coffee, Grandma’s Cocoa, apple cider, Wassail, Hot Cranberry Drink.

dscn7785

I highly recommend trying this recipe. These are just so good – really!! For some reason, the spices in these are absolutely perfect. I munched on these with a cup of coffee as I remembered Hilda and Mike and those afternoon coffees of years ago. If I dared, I might try slurping my coffee out of my saucer, but I’m afraid I’m have the coffee down the front of my shirt. Try this recipe – you’ll love them!

Don’t forget to check back on Thursday for my 12 Days of Scandinavian Christmas!

 

Leave a Reply

Passion 4 baking

Jeg blogger om min passion for baking og matlaging og allt det spennende man kan finne på i kjøkkenet med kaker, cupcakes, cakepops og ulike frostinger

Cooking Without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

Pinch of Yum

A food blog with simple and tasty recipes.

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

eASYbAKED

a collection of recipes

