Plenty Sweet Life

Grandma's Recipes One By One!

Molasses Cookies

on January 20, 2017

This recipe comes from my mom’s file, but she doesn’t remember where she got it. I’m just glad she got it because this recipe is a good one. Once I read the recipe, I was interested in making these Molasses Cookies because they’re a very different kind of molasses cookie – they have an addition of coconut and nuts – and that’s unusual. Really – have you ever heard of that? Well, I’m glad I tried them because they’re absolutely delicious! There is also a note on these to double them, so I did and was able to get almost 5 dozen cookies. Let me also say that even though doubling this makes a lot of cookies, they didn’t last long. Not in my house. My husband had a little problem with these. You might say they vaporized. I’m not even kidding.

molasses-cookies

Yes – these are really good!

Here is the recipe as I made it:

Molasses Cookies

Mix in order given:

1/2 cup shortening

3/4 cup sugar

1 egg

1/4 cup molasses

3/4 teaspoon baking soda, 1/2 teaspoon salt, 1 1/2 cup +2 Tablespoons flour

1 cup coconut

1 cup nuts, chopped (I used walnuts)

1 teaspoon vanilla

dscn9789

These cookies are so unusual with the addition of coconut and nuts.

dscn9793

I used my trusty scoop to make the balls of dough.

dscn9806

The scoop worked well to make the cookies close to the same size.

dscn9824

These cookies are another great treat to enjoy with your afternoon coffee.

dscn9813

I’m so glad I tried these cookies. They. Are. So. Good. Who knew that adding coconut and nuts to a molasses cookie would be this tasty?!! Give this recipe a try – you’ll love them! Then hurry up and hide them before they vaporize. Don’t say I didn’t warn you!!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

One response to “Molasses Cookies

  1. Karen Dresser says:

    Thank you – they are good cookies!

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

Leave a Reply

Passion 4 baking

Jeg blogger om min passion for baking og matlaging og allt det spennende man kan finne på i kjøkkenet med kaker, cupcakes, cakepops og ulike frostinger

Cooking without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

Pinch of Yum

A food blog with simple and tasty recipes.

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

eASYbAKED

a collection of recipes

