Plenty Sweet Life

Grandma's Recipes One By One!

Chocolate Fudge Squares

on February 7, 2017

I decided to try another recipe from the tiny book I found at my sister’s house, and I thought I’d make it more of a holiday thing. I like candies and sprinkles as much as the next gal, so I went for it with these bars. Trust me – your valentine is gonna love these. Chocolate Fudge Squares sounds like more of a fudgy bar, or even a candy, right? Nope. These are basically brownies. Maybe there were too many brownie recipes in the tiny book, I don’t know. But let’s call them what they are. These are brownies. They’re just very festive brownies – at least the way I made them in this batch.

16

These bars did NOT end up being fudgy.

Here is the recipe as I made it:

Chocolate Fudge Squares

Sift together 3 times:

3/4 cup pastry flour (I used regular all-purpose flour)

1 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

Melt:

2 squares baking chocolate

Add:

1/2 cup shortening (I used butter)

Blend.

Combine with the chocolate mixture:

1 cup sugar

3 eggs, well beaten

Beat thoroughly.

Add:

Flour mixture

1 teaspoon vanilla

1 cup nuts, chopped

Pour into 8″ x 8″ pan (it says to put it into 2 pans, but I think that’s a typo).

Bake at 350 degrees for 30 minutes.

dscn9887dscn9893

There are a few steps to these bars (as with brownies), but it doesn’t take long to do. First sift the dry ingredients, then beat the eggs and melt the chocolate and butter.

dscn9895dscn9902

Combine the chocolate/butter mixture with the sugar and eggs, then add the flour mixture.

dscn9905dscn9907

This isn’t on the recipe, but I added holiday candies and sprinkles.

dscn9909dscn9915

Full disclosure – I happened to peek into the oven with about 10 minutes left to bake. The candies had sunk to the bottom – I couldn’t see any of them – so I added another 1/2 cup or so to the top and it was firm enough so they didn’t sink this time. Next time I’d wait to add the candies until there is about 10 minutes left to bake.

dscn9947

They turned out so pretty and very festive!

dscn9964

These aren’t really a fudge type bar – they’re more like a brownie – but they’re delicious. You can make them holiday specific with candies, or sprinkles, or chocolate chips, or nuts – whatever you want to put on them. Make a batch for your valentine!

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Passion 4 baking

Jeg blogger om min passion for baking og matlaging og allt det spennende man kan finne på i kjøkkenet med kaker, cupcakes, cakepops og ulike frostinger

Cooking without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

Pinch of Yum

A food blog with simple and tasty recipes.

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

eASYbAKED

a collection of recipes

