Plenty Sweet Life

Grandma's Recipes One By One!

Homemade Marshmallow Hearts in Hot Chocolate

on February 10, 2017

My husband and I were having a cup of hot chocolate with marshmallows recently, and after spending waaaaay too much time on Pinterest looking at Valentine ideas, I wanted to try to cut marshmallows in the shape of a heart to put in our hot chocolate. I first tried rolling a regular big marshmallow flat with a rolling-pin. It didn’t work so well until my husband suggested using some sugar (like flour when you’re rolling out cookies) to help it get larger. Well, it worked, but the heart was really flat. Then we put it into the microwave to see if it would puff up again. Ha! It did – a lot! But then it went back to being flat and got real gooey. The next day I decided to try to make my own marshmallow hearts, but I didn’t want a big cake pan full of marshmallows. Google it! I found a recipe for a small batch of marshmallows at Dessertfortwo.com. I tried it, LOVED them, and here we have Homemade Marshmallow Hearts in Hot Chocolate. These marshmallows would be perfect with either Hot Chocolate Mix or Grandma’s Cocoa.

Here is the recipe as I made it:

Homemade Marshmallows (Small Batch – Hearts)

Stir together in a large saucepan:

3/4 cups sugar

1/3 cup corn syrup

pinch of salt

3 Tablespoons water

Turn heat to high and boil without stirring.

Use a candy thermometer and boil until it reaches 238 degrees F.

Meanwhile:

Put in large bowl:

3 Tablespoons water

Sprinkle on top:

1 envelope unflavored gelatin

Let sit a few minutes without stirring.

When the syrup reaches 238 degrees (this happened pretty fast), slowly begin to stream it into the gelatin mixture while constantly beating with a hand mixer (not a stand mixer).

Go slow, take your time, and beat for a full 10 minutes.

Stir in:

1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract or 1/2 of a vanilla bean (I used vanilla extract)

Spread into a 5″ x 9″ bread pan that is lined with parchment paper and is greased very well (I used cooking spray).

Let the mixture set uncovered 3 hours.

When ready to cut, sprinkle powdered sugar on a work surface.

Dump marshmallows onto work surface, top with more powdered sugar, and cut with a knife dipped in powdered sugar (I used cooking spray on the knife – it worked better).

Roll all edges in powdered sugar.

Store in airtight container for 2-3 days at room temperature.

dscn0090

The marshmallow mixture will be THICK! Your mixer will be working hard.

dscn0093

Get the pan ready before you start. I didn’t know how much time I had to get the mixture into the pan, so I was really in a hurry and just used a big piece of parchment. Because I was going to cut out some hearts, I used an 8″ x 8″ pan, instead of a bread pan, to make the marshmallows thinner.

dscn0098

The first heart I cut out – I didn’t put any cooking spray on the cookie cutter. Not so pretty.

dscn0100dscn0109

I sprayed the cookie cutter and that worked much better. Very pretty.

dscn0101dscn0105

I tried dipping the knife in powdered sugar, but it stuck to the knife. I sprayed the knife with cooking spray and it worked much better. You can move them around better if you sprinkle them with more powdered sugar, and then dip each cut edge into powdered sugar.

dscn0112

These are the most delicious marshmallows – I love, love, love them! I had to try them toasted in the hot chocolate. It was so good, and yes, I used a blowtorch. I don’t have one of those fancy little kitchen ones, so my husband dug out his big one from the garage. I wouldn’t do that again – there was a bit of a faint taste of butane. Ha! In the past I have toasted marshmallows over the gas burner on my stove, and that works very well. You could also use a bonfire, I guess, but I have to say the blowtorch was really fun.

dscn0118

This is a very special treat for you and your valentine. We had fun trying to find the perfect name for these: Love in a Cup, Hot Love in a Mug, S’more Love in a Cup. Ha! My husband got on a roll with the names, and let me just say that some of the names will NOT be repeated here.

dscn0119

These marshmallows are so delicious! They’re so good, so creamy, so gooey, and so good in my homemade Hot Chocolate Mix. Wow. I will definitely be making these again! Give them a try – you may never buy marshmallows again! I know I won’t!

 

 

Leave a Reply

Passion 4 baking

Jeg blogger om min passion for baking og matlaging og allt det spennende man kan finne på i kjøkkenet med kaker, cupcakes, cakepops og ulike frostinger

Cooking without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

Pinch of Yum

A food blog with simple and tasty recipes.

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

eASYbAKED

a collection of recipes

