Plenty Sweet Life

Grandma's Recipes One By One!

Lemon Meringue Pie #2 (Filling Made in the Microwave)

on February 24, 2017

We’re continuing the lemon recipes today and letting the sun shine in with a great pie recipe.

dscn0014

I found this photo from sometime in the 1950’s of almost all of the family – Grandma’s siblings and their spouses and children – and I had to share it today when we’re making a recipe that sounds perfect for a family gathering.

lemon-meringue-pie-microwave

You can see that even without absolutely everybody there, they were a large group. I imagine that when they got together, they would share their best recipes and make the most delicious ones for the family. This is just that kind of recipe.

This recipe for Lemon Meringue Pie #2 (Filling Made in the Microwave) came from Grandma’s youngest sister, and it sounded like another easy one. When getting ready to make this, I knew that I have done a Lemon Meringue Pie post here already (I shared it in my last post), so I thought I’d better check that recipe before starting this one. The funniest thing happened! They are the SAME recipe! Well, I had to try it both ways, so I made this one, too! In the other pie recipe, Grandma wrote it out for me, and indicated that she got if from someone else. Maybe it’s a totally different recipe, or maybe she left out that little part about it being done in the microwave. Either way – and funnier still – it worked both ways!!! You can do it in the microwave, or do it in a saucepan on the stove! They both work! That being said, it was so easy to do this in the microwave, that I’ll never do it in a pan again.

lemon-meringue-pie-2

lemon-meringue-pie-2b

Note the “V Good” connotation on this one!

Here is the recipe as I made it:

Lemon Meringue Pie #2 (Filling Made in the Microwave)

Get a 9″ baked pie crust ready (wanting to try something different, I used a graham cracker crust for this one).

Combine in a 2 quart bowl:

1 1/2 cup sugar

1/3 cup cornstarch

1 1/2 cup cold water

1/2 cup lemon juice

5 egg yolks (whites reserved)

Stir until smooth.

Add:

2 Tablespoons butter

Cook on high until mixture thickens and boils – 7 1/2 to 8 minutes – stirring 2-3 times.

Stir in:

1-3 teaspoons grated lemon peel

Let stand, uncovered, 15 minutes, stirring occasionally.

Meringue:

In a large bowl beat until foamy:

5 egg whites

1/4 teaspoon cream of tartar

Add:

1/2 cup sugar, 1 Tablespoon at a time

Beat constantly until sugar is dissolved and whites are glossy and stand in soft peaks.

Beat in:

1 teaspoon lemon juice

Pour filling into pie crust.

Cover filling with meringue – all the way to the edges.

Bake at 325 degrees for 25 minutes.

dscn0197

I just laughed out loud when I realized that the two recipes were the same, and worked both ways! Too funny!

dscn0199

It seems weird to just add a chunk of butter, but remember that this will be going into the microwave and it will melt.

dscn0201dscn0203

It’s so fast to do and comes out so thick and delicious – THEN you also add the lemon rind!

dscn0206

I tried something different using a graham cracker crust for this one. I would use a regular crust next time, but my family didn’t seem to mind the graham cracker one. They loved it even though for some reason, it did get a little wet (I read that sometimes that happens when you overbeat the egg whites).

dscn0219

I used too small of a pie pan, so I also made a couple of “pudding” cups.

dscn0224dscn0228

The meringue is fluffy and delicious – don’t forget to top the “puddings”, too!

dscn0234

I am now a lover of lemon pudding. You can always do this instead of using a crust.

dscn0242

The pie is beautiful and so amazingly delicious!

dscn0245

This was so easy to do in the microwave. It’s one of my new favorites – I love it this way. Try this recipe at your next family gathering. You’ll never go back to doing Lemon Meringue Pie on the stove again!

 

2 responses to “Lemon Meringue Pie #2 (Filling Made in the Microwave)

  1. […] from a mix and not homemade, but it didn’t really matter in this case), used the recipe for Lemon Meringue Pie #2 for the filling, and then for the frosting I made a Raspberry Buttercream, which is a basic […]

  2. […] I froze the juice in 1 cup amounts in zip top freezer bags. Freeze them flat and you can stack them in your freezer to take up less space. It’s also easier to break off what you need when it is frozen flat. Use this over the summer to make Lemonade, Lemon Meringue Pie, or Lemon Meringue Pie #2. […]

Leave a Reply

Passion 4 baking

Jeg blogger om min passion for baking og matlaging og allt det spennende man kan finne på i kjøkkenet med kaker, cupcakes, cakepops og ulike frostinger

Cooking Without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

Pinch of Yum

A food blog with simple and tasty recipes.

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

eASYbAKED

a collection of recipes

