Plenty Sweet Life

Grandma's Recipes One By One!

Carrot Bars

on April 4, 2017

This recipe for Carrot Bars is another one that Grandma cut out of the newspaper, and like I’ve said before – it has to be a good one because she didn’t do that too often. These bars are very similar in flavor to Carrot Cake, and are going under the heading of Retro Oddities, if only because of the use of baby food carrots. I have to go on a bit of a rant here, and at the risk of sounding like an old fogey, let me just say that I don’t like the fact that all baby food is now packaged in plastic. I would rather still see the glass jars with a lid – which is WAAAAY easier to open than these foil tops you have to peel off. It took longer to get the top off of the baby food than it took to mix up the bars!! I digress. Using carrots sounds like a treat just right for springtime. Let’s try these slightly strange bars and see what happens.

Note the V Good connotation again on this one! I may have to try the Lemon Bars at a later date – it was cut off here but I do have the rest of that recipe!

Here is the recipe as I made it:

Carrot Bars

Combine all ingredients:

1 1/4 cup flour

1 teaspoon baking soda

1 teaspoon cinnamon

1/2 teaspoon salt

2 eggs

1 cup sugar

3/4 cup oil (I used canola)

2 (4 1/2 oz.) jars strained carrot baby food (now the containers are 4 oz.)

1 teaspoon vanilla

1/2 cup chopped nuts (I used walnuts)

Pour into greased 9″ x 13″ pan.

Bake at 350 degrees for 30 minutes.

Frosting:

1 1/2 cup powdered sugar

3 oz. cream cheese (they used to have small packages of cream cheese this size, but now I just use the measurements on the side of the 8 oz. cream cheese to measure this out)

1/4 cup butter

1 teaspoon vanilla

Mix together and spread on bars.

You can see in the above paragraph that I’m not a big fan of this kind of baby food container. It’s just silly. Ok. I’m done. Also – these come in 4 oz. containers now, not 4 1/2 oz., but it didn’t seem to make much difference.

You can just mix everything up together, but I did do the liquids together first and then added the sifted dry ingredients.

This recipe is so easy to do and is beautiful before AND after baking.

How can you go wrong with cream cheese frosting? Delicious.

The frosting looked like a pretty small batch, but it did cover the whole pan.

The smell of these bars baking really made me think of Grandma. It’s funny that it’s the smell of things that makes me the most nostalgic. Baking can bring me back to specific people and places in a heartbeat.

They are calling these “bars”, but they really taste like carrot cake, and while I do make Carrot Cake, bars are much more portable and easy to eat. These Carrot Bars are so mouth-watering and quick to make and delicious – perfect for springtime – or anytime!

 

 

Leave a Reply

Passion 4 baking

Jeg blogger om min passion for baking og matlaging og allt det spennende man kan finne på i kjøkkenet med kaker, cupcakes, cakepops og ulike frostinger

Cooking Without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

Pinch of Yum

A food blog with simple and tasty recipes.

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

eASYbAKED

a collection of recipes

