Plenty Sweet Life

Grandma's Recipes One By One!

A Special Birthday Cake with Raspberry Buttercream

on April 7, 2017

My middle child turns 30 in April. In lieu of big 30th birthday bashes, she and her circle of friends, most of whom turned 30 this year, all traveled to Costa Rica to celebrate their birthdays. Since her birthday was to be celebrated with us at home before she left on her trip, she requested a certain home cookin’ birthday dinner instead of going out for dinner, and when it came to what kind of cake she wanted? “Surprise me,” was all she said. Well, she should know better. I decided to make A Special Birthday Cake with Raspberry Buttercream because I know she likes lemon, and I know she likes raspberry. I made a white cake from a mix (yes – I know – she was also appalled that the cake was from a mix and not homemade, but it didn’t really matter in this case), used the recipe for Lemon Meringue Pie #2 for the filling, and then for the frosting I made a Raspberry Buttercream, which is a basic buttercream made with raspberry jam. It’s easy to do and it’s amazingly delicious.

Here is the recipe as I made it:

Raspberry Buttercream

(I doubled this recipe because it didn’t seem to make a lot.)

Mix together:

1 cup butter, softened

3 1/2 cups powdered sugar

1 Tablespoon milk

1 teaspoon vanilla

Mix until well combined.

Add:

1/3 cup raspberry jam

Mix well.

I used 9 inch cake pans for the layers, and I thought they got a bit thin, so I used 2 cake mixes and made 4 layers  – using 3 of them for this cake (saving one layer for a treat at another time). You can see the lemon filling, where I used the filling for Lemon Meringue Pie #2. Another plus – the lemon filling was made in the microwave. Easy. You can barely see it, but at the very top of the cake, I put a wooden skewer through from top to bottom to hold it together. I then put it in the refrigerator overnight. It chilled nicely and was good and solid to frost it the next day.

I put on a crumb coat of frosting first, filling in the sides of the layers where there were some gaps. Next – a nice layer of frosting covering everything. The skewer stayed in until I was ready for the final frosting coat, then I took it out.

My intention was to make this a Rose Cake, but this was a double batch of the frosting and I didn’t have quite enough to put roses on the whole cake. Instead of making ANOTHER batch of frosting,  I just put roses on the top.

I had to make a special little banner for the special birthday. To make the banner, I just cut out flags from pretty paper, used stickers to spell the words, put a spot of hot glue on the back and laid the string right on top of the glue. Then I just tied the string onto two wooden skewers.

When the birthday girl said, “surprise me”? I had to put on an extra little surprise of a baby picture – and she’s wearing a party hat! So cute! The baby picture was cut out, I glued on the party hat and embellishments, hot glued the whole photo onto a wooden toothpick, and that’s it!

Oh my. The lemon filling went perfectly with the raspberry in the frosting.

This was a special birthday cake for a special birthday and wow – was it tasty! Sometimes it works to mix and match recipes – depending on the occasion. Give this a try. This Special Birthday Cake with Raspberry Buttercream was easy to make and it was amazingly delicious. Happy Birthday!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Passion 4 baking

Jeg blogger om min passion for baking og matlaging og allt det spennende man kan finne på i kjøkkenet med kaker, cupcakes, cakepops og ulike frostinger

Cooking Without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

Pinch of Yum

A food blog with simple and tasty recipes.

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

eASYbAKED

a collection of recipes

