Plenty Sweet Life

Grandma's Recipes One By One!

Orange Sugar Cookies

on April 11, 2017

Spring is here. At least I think it is. The calendar says so. Ok – I’m going to go ahead and demand that spring is here, so it’s time to make another springtime recipe. The recipe for these Orange Sugar Cookies is perfect for spring. Speaking of spring, I had to share this photo of Grandma and my mom. It looks like my mom is about 1 year old (since her birthday is in the middle of March), and it looks like spring, because the snow is pretty slushy. They always took pictures outside before there was a reliable flash system on the cameras, and I think it’s funny that they took the photo right next to the gas tank. Ha!

My mom has the cutest little coat and hat on – maybe it was Easter Sunday. I love Grandma’s lovely hat, boots, and fur trimmed coat. Very stylish!

The recipe for today is for Orange Sugar Cookies, and comes from one of Grandma’s old church cookbooks. This isn’t a book from Grandma’s church, but it is a good one that she wrote notes in. I’ve said this many times, but I think these old church cookbooks are just the best for great recipes. They’re ALL good ones!

orange-cookies

These are the perfect little tea cookie.

Here is the recipe as I made it:

Orange Sugar Cookies

Cream thoroughly:

3/4 cup shortening (I used butter)

3/4 cup sugar

Add:

1 egg

Sift together:

2 cups flour

1/2 teaspoon cream of tartar

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon salt

Add to creamed mixture.

Add:

1 teaspoon vanilla

Grated rind of 1 large orange

Chill dough (I chilled it for about an hour).

Roll dough into small balls.

Roll balls in sugar.

Do not press down.

Bake at 375 degrees for 10-12 minutes or until golden.

dscn0755

I absolutely LOVE old church cookbooks.

dscn0760

It didn’t look like a lot of dough, but because you make them smaller, you still get a lot of cookies out of this batch.

dscn0780

I didn’t use my scoop for these because they would have been too big.

dscn0781

You can see the orange rind in there! You know they’re gonna be good!

dscn0789

I thought they might spread out like regular sugar cookies or ginger snaps, but they stayed in these beautiful little round cookies.

dscn0813

Oh my – they’re gorgeous!

dscn0816

It’s amazing how much flavor is in that orange rind. These are delicious cookies, and I know I say this a lot, but these are one of my new favorites. They’re perfect for your afternoon coffee or tea, they’re perfect for spring or Easter or any occasion! You HAVE to try these Orange Sugar Cookies – you’ll love ’em!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

3 responses to “Orange Sugar Cookies

  1. Karen Dresser says:

    Delicioius cookies, cute picture too!!!

  2. […] made several kinds of sugar cookies here on Plenty Sweet Life: Brown Sugar Cookies, White Cookies, Orange Sugar Cookies, and No Roll Sugar Cookies. They’ve all been just a little bit different, but all have been […]

  3. […] line of them. You can find the recipes here for Sugar Cookies, Brown Sugar Cookies, White Cookies, Orange Sugar Cookies, Rolled Butter Cookies That Never Stick, No-Roll Sugar Cookies, and Aunt Julie’s Summer […]

Leave a Reply

Passion 4 baking

Jeg blogger om min passion for baking og matlaging og allt det spennende man kan finne på i kjøkkenet med kaker, cupcakes, cakepops og ulike frostinger

Cooking without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

Pinch of Yum

A food blog with simple and tasty recipes.

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

eASYbAKED

a collection of recipes

