Plenty Sweet Life

Grandma's Recipes One By One!

Chocolate Cake (Cupcakes) with Chocolate Buttercream

on May 5, 2017

The recipe for Chocolate Cake (which I decided to make into cupcakes) comes from the tiny book I found at my sister’s house. It was time to make my son’s birthday cake and he decided that this year he wanted chocolate. Well, are we glad I tried this recipe from that book! This is one of the family’s newest favorites. The front page of that little book said that the recipes were “tested” and I would have to say they did it right. All of the recipes from that tiny book have been absolutely delicious, and this one is no exception. I made this recipe for a birthday, but it would also be great for Mother’s Day, or any other celebration – especially if your mother is as much of a chocoholic as my mom is. In honor of the upcoming day to celebrate mothers, here is a photo of 3 generations: my mom, my grandma, and her mother – my great-grandmother.

It must have been a special occasion – they’re all dressed up and Grandma has a hat on! So let’s get back to the business at hand – Chocolate Cake!

This recipe is quick and easy to do – just the way we like ’em!

Here is the recipe as I made it:

Chocolate Cake

Mix in order given:

1/2 cup shortening (I used butter)

1 cup brown sugar

1/2 cup sugar

2 small eggs

1 cup buttermilk or sour milk

2 cups flour

1 teaspoon (heaping) baking soda (add to the flour)

1 teaspoon vanilla

1/4 cup cocoa mixed with enough boiling water to make a paste

Bake at 350-375 degrees for 40 minutes (I baked the cupcakes at 350 degrees for 20-25 minutes).

Chocolate Buttercream

2 sticks butter

4 cups powdered sugar

1/2-3/4 cup cocoa (depending on how cocoa-y you like it)

2-3 Tablespoons vanilla

3-4 Tablespoons milk

Blend well with a hand mixer, adding more milk if necessary to thin to perfect piping or frosting consistency.

This is what the cocoa paste looks like – nice and creamy.

Here’s before and after baking – very chocolatey.

I don’t think you can see it here, and I’m not sure why, but these cupcakes had a nice bit of a crust on top – it was delightful and we all loved that part.

I piped on the buttercream, but you can frost them with a knife also. The buttercream is delicious on these and it WAS a birthday – there HAS to be sprinkles.

This my new favorite recipe. They were just delicious. I use that word a lot – delicious. But they were – absolutely delicious. The whole family agreed. Try this recipe for Chocolate Cake for your chocoholic – it’ll be their new favorite, too!

 

 

Leave a Reply

Passion 4 baking

Jeg blogger om min passion for baking og matlaging og allt det spennende man kan finne på i kjøkkenet med kaker, cupcakes, cakepops og ulike frostinger

Cooking without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

Pinch of Yum

A food blog with simple and tasty recipes.

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

eASYbAKED

a collection of recipes

