Plenty Sweet Life

Grandma's Recipes One By One!

Angel Sponge Cake

on May 12, 2017

This recipe for Angel Sponge Cake comes from the tiny book I found at my sister’s house. I haven’t had any bad ones from this book, however, this might be the first one. This one was kind of weird. I looked online to see if there were any recipes on there for Angel Sponge Cake that I could look at, but I didn’t find any. Not one. At any rate, I tried it, and I’ll share it, but I warned you. I wanted to have this cake on today so there would be a beautiful and tasty dessert for you to make for mom this weekend. Boo. I’m not so sure about this one. You might want to try some other recipes I’ve posted. The ridiculously delicious Prune Cake is a great one, or the Chocolate Rose Cake for the chocoholic mom, or even the luscious Lemon Dessert #2. There are so many desserts and cakes to choose from – go crazy and pick one!

I think they ran out of room to write out the recipe – it’s a bit confusing.

Here is the recipe as I made it:

Angel Sponge Cake

Beat:

6 egg whites

1/2 teaspoon salt

Add:

1/2 teaspoon almond extract

1 teaspoon cream of tartar

3/4 cup sugar

1/2 cup cake flour

Put in bottom of 9″ x 13″ pan (I think – there’s no size listed).

Beat until light:

6 egg  yolks

Add and beat until light in color:

3 Tablespoons water

1/2 teaspoon vanilla

1/2 teaspoon salt

Sift together:

1/2 cup sugar

1/2 cup flour

1 teaspoon baking powder

Combine with egg yolk mixture.

Pour over egg whites in pan.

Bake in slow (300-325 degrees – I had the oven at 325 degrees) 45-60 minutes.

Separate the eggs first – this recipe doesn’t take long if you have everything ready to go ahead of time. I used my big mixer, but I think it would have worked better with a hand mixer.

Here is the angel food layer in the pan first. Looks harmless enough.

The recipe doesn’t have everything in the instructions. Sift ALL the dry ingredients for the sponge cake layer together first.

Here is the sponge cake layer poured on top of the angel food layer. Ok . . .?

I thought maybe the two types of cake would assimilate and mix together more. Instead, there are definitely two separate layers with two totally different types of cake. Weird.

Whipped cream and fresh berries make anything delicious AND beautiful!

The cake is good – just a bit strange – and kind of tough. Not my favorite and possibly the first recipe from that tiny book that isn’t so great. Maybe I missed something here, I don’t know. Anyway, if you try this Angel Sponge Cake, let me know how it turns out for you.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Passion 4 baking

Jeg blogger om min passion for baking og matlaging og allt det spennende man kan finne på i kjøkkenet med kaker, cupcakes, cakepops og ulike frostinger

Cooking Without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

Pinch of Yum

A food blog with simple and tasty recipes.

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

eASYbAKED

a collection of recipes

