Plenty Sweet Life

Grandma's Recipes One By One!

Rhubarb Upside Down Dessert

on May 16, 2017

The card for this recipe doesn’t have a title, so I’m calling it Rhubarb Upside Down Dessert. I don’t know why,  but rhubarb recipes always remind me of Grandma, even if they aren’t from her. I wanted to share this photo today, of Grandma and Grandpa (on the left) and Grandma’s sister and her husband. Grandma and this sister had their birthdays on the same day, but 2 years apart. I just love this picture!

They look so young and so happy! These sisters were so close and such good friends, that I’m sure they spent many afternoons chatting over cups of coffee and some of these rhubarb recipes. This recipe is so easy and so delicious, that you’re ALL going to want to try this one!

This sounds like another weird one, but trust me, this one is really good!

Here is the recipe as I made it:

Rhubarb Upside Down Dessert

Mix according to package directions:

1 yellow or lemon cake mix (I used lemon for this one)

Put in 9″ x 13″ pan.

Pour over cake mix:

5 cups chopped rhubarb

Then over that:

1 1/2 cups sugar

Pour over top of all:

1/2 pint whipping cream (I mistakenly bought Half-n-Half to make this and didn’t realize it until I was about to pour it on – it worked fine)

Bake at 350 degrees for 40 minutes.

Serve upside down with whipped cream (or ice cream).

This one takes a lot of rhubarb – that means a lot of chopping.

I know it sounds weird, but put the cake batter into the pan, sprinkle on the rhubarb, then on goes the sugar.

Pour the whipping cream over the top of everything.

After baking, it looks totally different. It’s ok – this is what it’s supposed to look like.

Don’t forget to put it on the plate upside down. You can see the how the rhubarb goes to the bottom of the pan and so do the sugar and whipping cream, so it makes a delicious custardy topping for the cake.

As far as I’m concerned, it’s delicious just the way it is, but Grandma always liked to gild the lily.

That means adding the whipped cream at the end. I used lemon cake mix instead of yellow for this cake, and it was delicious but a bit overpowering. I think the yellow cake mix lets the rhubarb flavor come through better. Either way is so easy and so tasty, that I hope you’ll all try this Rhubarb Upside Down Dessert.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Passion 4 baking

Jeg blogger om min passion for baking og matlaging og allt det spennende man kan finne på i kjøkkenet med kaker, cupcakes, cakepops og ulike frostinger

Cooking Without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

Pinch of Yum

A food blog with simple and tasty recipes.

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

eASYbAKED

a collection of recipes

