Plenty Sweet Life

Grandma's Recipes One By One!

Coconut Cookies

on June 13, 2017

The recipe for Coconut Cookies is from one of Grandma’s old church cookbooks. I was perusing those old books one day, and this one struck me. I must have been in the mood for coconut. And cookies. These cookies fit the bill, even if they are a bit decadent. They’re crunchy, they’re crispy, they’re full of coconut, and we know that since the recipe came from an old church cookbook – it’s a GOOD ONE!! Give this recipe a try and just see if I’m wrong. I don’t think so.

For some reason, I felt like sharing a goofy photo today. This one is REALLY goofy. I know that when Gramp got a new camera, he took a lot of practice pics, and this is one of them. Just little ole’ me. Standing on the ottoman. Holding a doll. In front of my face. Ha. He must have been desperate for practice shots.

Again with the bangs cut up to the top of my head! Why?!!! Ha! So funny! Love my shoes, by the way.

Ok – back to the cookies.

I really like these cookies – but then, I really like coconut.

Here is the recipe as I made it:

Coconut Cookies

Mix all together:

1 cup butter

1 cup white sugar

1 cup brown sugar

2 eggs

4 cups oatmeal

1 1/2 cups flour

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

pinch of salt

1 teaspoon baking powder

1 teaspoon vanilla

Roll in small balls and flatten with hand.

Bake at 375 degrees for 10-12 minutes.

I’m grateful for my mixer every time I make something, especially when recipes like this just have you mix everything together!

I used my scoop to make the balls, and at first I tried flattening them with my hands like the recipe suggested, but in the end I used a glass to flatten the balls. It was seemed to work better, and then you also get a little sugary crust on top of the cookie.

Oh wow – golden and crispy and delicious!

As my husband is so fond of saying, “a handful of these and a big glass of milk” – heaven!

This cookie is something a little different because it’s full of coconut instead of the usual chocolate chips or raisins. Another recipe that’s very easy and very delicious! They’re another great treat to have for a snack, or your afternoon coffee or tea (they go GREAT with coffee)! I think you’ll like these Coconut Cookies – they’re “plenty sweet”!

 

One response to “Coconut Cookies

  1. Karen Dresser says:

    delicious!!!! love the picture too!!!!

Leave a Reply

Passion 4 baking

Jeg blogger om min passion for baking og matlaging og allt det spennende man kan finne på i kjøkkenet med kaker, cupcakes, cakepops og ulike frostinger

Cooking without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

Pinch of Yum

A food blog with simple and tasty recipes.

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

eASYbAKED

a collection of recipes

