Plenty Sweet Life

Grandma's Recipes One By One!

Sugar Cookies #2

on July 18, 2017

I’ve made several kinds of sugar cookies for Plenty Sweet Life, and these Sugar Cookies #2 are just one more in the long line of them. You can find the recipes here for Sugar Cookies, Brown Sugar Cookies, White Cookies, Orange Sugar Cookies, Rolled Butter Cookies That Never Stick, No-Roll Sugar Cookies, and Aunt Julie’s Summer Cookies. This list includes both the cut-out kind of sugar cookies and the kind that start by being rolled in a ball. Let me just say that I think you should try them ALL! All of them are really good and melt in your mouth. This is another recipe from the tiny book I found at my sister’s house. I’m so glad we found that book – it has been full of really good recipes.

These cookies hold their shape well.

Here is the recipe as I made it:

Sugar Cookies #2

Cream together:

1 cup shortening – part butter (I used all butter)

1 1/2 cup sugar

Add in order:

2 eggs

3 cups flour

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/4 cup milk

1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla

Roll out on floured surface and cut out shapes with cookie cutter.

Sprinkle with colored sugar or bake plain and frost with icing.

Bake at 425 degrees for 5-9 minutes.

It’s a little hard to see here, but the dough was very soft. It didn’t say in the recipe to put it in the refrigerator to chill, but I did wrap it in plastic wrap and put it in there. Actually, full disclosure, I was interrupted and had to leave the dough in there for a few days. It seemed just fine.

I usually have to roll out cookies on my kitchen table, which inevitably ends up with flour getting through the crack in the middle of the table and ending up on the floor. Oh well, a girl’s gotta do what a girl’s gotta do!

These cookies hold their shape very well when cut. On this batch, I used sanding sugar because they weren’t necessarily for a holiday – just for fun.

Grandma never liked her cookies to get too brown, but I happen to like the flavor of them just a little brown on the edges.

This is a really good recipe. The cookies are not really soft, they’re more like a sweet cracker – firm instead of soft. I may try this recipe at Christmastime when I make my cut-outs. These Sugar Cookies #2 are delicious – you’re going to love them!

 

 

 

 

2 responses to “Sugar Cookies #2

  1. These look fantastic !

Leave a Reply

Passion 4 baking

Jeg blogger om min passion for baking og matlaging og allt det spennende man kan finne på i kjøkkenet med kaker, cupcakes, cakepops og ulike frostinger

Cooking without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

Pinch of Yum

A food blog with simple and tasty recipes.

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

eASYbAKED

a collection of recipes

