Plenty Sweet Life

Grandma's Recipes One By One!

3 Ingredient Watermelon Lime Popsicles

on August 8, 2017

I’m so excited – I made up a recipe for 3 Ingredient Watermelon Lime Popsicles! I’m sure you can find recipes somewhere online for this same thing – watermelon and lime are just so delicious together! It’s summer, and being a big popsicle eater as a kid, I wanted to try to make my own. Since I love watermelon and I love lime, why not put the two together and make a batch of popsicles with it? With only 3 ingredients, they’re pretty healthy, too!! I do like squeezing a nice little wedge of lime on top of a nice little slice of watermelon, so why wouldn’t they taste just as delicious when put together in a popsicle? I tried it. I liked it! I like these a lot better than the sugary, syrupy popsicles of my childhood – this recipe uses real fruit juice!

Here is the recipe as I made it:

3 Ingredient Watermelon Lime Popsicles

Fill bowl of a food processor or blender with:

watermelon, cubed (about 3-4 cups)

Add:

juice and zest of 1 lime

1 Tablespoon honey (or more to taste, depending on how sweet the melon is)

Blend.

Pour into popsicle molds or paper cups.

Freeze approximately 1 hour and insert popsicle sticks (otherwise known as craft sticks at your local craft store).

Freeze until firm (I just froze them overnight).

Don’t forget to zest the limes BEFORE you cut them in half. Oops.

I just put everything into my vintage 40-year-old blender.

Blend it up!

Pour the mixture into popsicle molds. I like this one that looks like an actual popsicle, but paper cups work just fine, too.

This batch made an even 10 pops – it filled the whole mold.

This mold has a lid to hold the sticks upright, but there’s a catch. If you don’t get the sticks exactly and evenly straight up and down, it’s very difficult to get the lid off. I’m thinking that it’s easier to leave the lid off and put the sticks in when the popsicles are frozen enough for the sticks to stand upright. Once they’re frozen, run the mold under a little warm water and they pull right out. I pop them into sandwich bags and back into the freezer for storage.

The mixture separated before freezing. I don’t know why it happened, but I’m ok with the two-toned look.

The popsicles are icy cold with the sweet flavor of watermelon and honey, and the tangy taste of the lime. Summer is short, so have some fun – be a kid again and try these healthy 3 Ingredient Watermelon Lime Popsicles!

 

 

2 responses to “3 Ingredient Watermelon Lime Popsicles

  1. Fabulous & refreshing popsicles! Love your vintage blender too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Passion 4 baking

Jeg blogger om min passion for baking og matlaging og allt det spennende man kan finne på i kjøkkenet med kaker, cupcakes, cakepops og ulike frostinger

Cooking without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

Pinch of Yum

A food blog with simple and tasty recipes.

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

eASYbAKED

a collection of recipes

