Plenty Sweet Life

Grandma's Recipes One By One!

Chicken Pot Pie

on September 19, 2017

This recipe for Chicken Pot Pie comes from friends who stayed with us years ago, and it’s become one of my family’s favorites. As a hostess gift, they brought us a cookbook to write your own recipes in, and this one was already in there. I’m so glad it was! Refrigerated pie crust (gasp) makes this fast and easy to make for a “really quick” dinner, as it says on the recipe. I know, I know –  the recipe doesn’t say refrigerated pie crust, but if we’re really trying to make this a quick one, that’s the way to go. You can certainly make your own pie crust, or even make it ahead of time and keep it ready to go in the freezer, but refrigerated crust has come a long way, and I’m ok with it – in this case.

This recipe is so fast and so good!

Here is the recipe as I made it:

Chicken Pot Pie

Put a refrigerated crust into a pie plate (you can also make your own crust).

Mix for filling:

2 cans Cream of Potato Soup

1 can VegAll (or frozen mixed vegetables – I used fresh vegetables and some vegetables from my garden)

2 cups diced chicken or turkey (I used chicken leftover from one we made in the smoker – rotisserie chicken works great, too)

1/4 teaspoon dried thyme

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/4 teaspoon pepper

1/2 cup milk

Put a refrigerated pie crust into pie pan (or make your own).

Put filling in and put on top crust.

Brush top crust with beaten egg.

Bake at 375 degrees for 40 minutes.

I used some fresh vegetables and some vegetables from my garden for this pie, but canned works just fine, too.

The filling is absolutely delicious.

Before baking it looks ok, but after baking you can see how pretty it is when you brush on the egg. I also made a few vent holes with a knife and added a sprinkling of course salt and freshly ground pepper on top of that.

This is another great recipe where you can basically have the ingredients on hand to make this whenever you have leftover chicken or turkey.

I’m so glad I have this recipe and I can’t recommend it enough. It’s easy to pull together, it’s easy to do, and it is sooooo good! My family absolutely loves this pot pie – it’s total comfort food. Really. I’m not even kidding – I KNOW you’re family is going to LOVE this Chicken Pot Pie.

 

One response to “Chicken Pot Pie

  1. mistimaan says:

    Very tasty recipe 🙂

Leave a Reply

Passion 4 baking

Jeg blogger om min passion for baking og matlaging og allt det spennende man kan finne på i kjøkkenet med kaker, cupcakes, cakepops og ulike frostinger

Cooking Without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

Pinch of Yum

A food blog with simple and tasty recipes.

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

eASYbAKED

a collection of recipes

