Plenty Sweet Life

Grandma's Recipes One By One!

Rhubarb Pie #2

on May 22, 2018

This recipe for Rhubarb Pie #2 is the one Grandma was famous for. It’s unbelievably delicious. I really should have made this rhubarb pie first so it could be #1, but I made another one in 2014, so that one is Rhubarb Pie. There are a couple of people in my family for whom this is one of their top 5 favorites, and that’s saying something. This pie is really one of those things that reminds me of Grandma. The smell of it, the look of it, and the memories of picking rhubarb in the shady garden down in the corner of the yard by the driveway at the farm.

I love this photo of Grandma with her two children: my mom and my uncle. It looks like a beautiful spring day and they’re all dressed up.

They’re so cute!

This pie has a custardy bottom layer that is divine with the tart rhubarb filled upper layer, and then there’s that heavenly layer of meringue over the top of it all. Oh my. Oh yes. Delicious. This card is one where we find the term “plenty sweet”. We just loved the terminology – that’s how “Plenty Sweet Life” came to be!

Of course, note the “V. Good” connotation on this one!

Here is the recipe as I made it:

Rhubarb Pie #2

Have one pie crust prepared, in the pie pan, and ready to go. You can find several recipes in the “Pie Crust” category up the right side of this blog.

Mix together:

1 1/2 cups sugar (she used 1 1/4 cups and it was “plenty sweet”!)

3 Tablespoons flour

3 egg yolks (whites reserved)

pinch of salt

1 teaspoon vanilla

1 cup of Half-n-Half (she said to use 1 1/4 cups used a pint for making two pies – I tried using just 1 cup for 1 pie and it was fine)

Add:

3 cups rhubarb, cut up fine (I just sliced them – I know the pieces were bigger than she would have used, but we like it that way)

Bake at 375 degrees for 10 minutes, then turn down to 325 and bake another 40 minutes or until set (I had to bake it another 30 minutes or so).

Whip the 3 reserved egg whites to stiff peaks, adding 2 Tablespoons of sugar per white. Put the whites on top of the hot pie and bake at 400 degrees for 10 minutes or until browned.

The pie is delicious warm, but when chilled in the refrigerator, it holds it’s shape a little better and is still just as delicious!

I really can’t believe how big my rhubarb is this year – it’s huge! A bumper crop!

Just use any pie crust recipe to have one ready.

Before and after baking – I put the pie on a baking sheet just in case the filling would overflow.

Once the pie is baked, it’s time to put on the meringue. I baked it about 10 minutes.

This is one of the best Rhubarb Pies I have ever made. Period. It’s beautiful.

Just look at this beautiful pie! It tastes even better than it looks – if you can believe that! You’re going to want to try this pie if you have a bumper crop of rhubarb this year like me. This Rhubarb Pie #2 will become a staple in your family, too!

 

 

 

 


4 responses to “Rhubarb Pie #2

  1. Karen Dresser says:

    Sooo 😋 yummy

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

The New Vintage Kitchen

A Vermont innkeeper's collection of seasonal vintage recipes, reimagined for today's cooks.

Convivial Supper

Recipes from the Past

Cooking Without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

EASYBAKED

a collection of recipes