Plenty Sweet Life

Grandma's Recipes One By One!

Apple Crumble

on October 22, 2019

Today’s recipe for Apple Crumble is a modification of the recipes for Rhubarb Crumble and Blueberry Crumble that I’ve made before for Plenty Sweet Life. After making the Rhubarb Crumble, I tried substituting the blueberries for the original rhubarb, so why not try apple? Well – it worked! It was delicious, and I’m excited for you guys to try it, too! Because I used delicious Minnesota Honeycrisp apples in this, I thought it would be fun to share this brochure about Minnesota apples from 1960. A lot of those apples are still being grown here in Minnesota – and they’re still just as delicious!

As you can see, this brochure was well used. You even get a couple of bonus recipes! Yay!

Ok, ok, I love apples and we all know it. There’s no secret here. So let’s get on with today’s recipe and see just how the apples work in the crumble.

Here is the recipe as I made it:

Apple Crumble

For topping – mix and set aside:

3 Tablespoons butter, melted

2/3 cup flour

1/4 cup sugar

1/4 cup nuts, chopped (I used walnuts – FYI – watch closely for shell – I’ve found 3 pieces of shell in 2 different bags of nuts recently)

Mix in order given:

1/3 cup margarine (I used butter)

2-1/3 cups self-rising cake flour (I never have this in the house, so I used 2-1/3 cup flour, 2-1/2 heaping teaspoons baking powder, 1/2 heaping teaspoon salt – whisked or sifted 5 times to make it light – I ended up having a problem at this point – more on that later)

1 cup sugar

1/4 cup nuts, chopped (I left them out of the batter – my family doesn’t care for nuts in cake)

2 large eggs, lightly beaten

zest of 1 lemon

juice of 1 lemon

1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

Fold in:

2 apples, cored and chopped (I left the skin on)

Spoon into greased 9″ springform pan.

Sprinkle topping over all.

Bake at 350 degrees for 60-65 minutes.

I had all the ingredients for this cake (and topping) in my cupboard – you probably do, too! BTW – the topping is totally the best part.

I used Minnesota Honeycrisp apples. They. Are. So. Good.

Full disclosure – here’s where I had a problem. The batter looked like it wasn’t thick enough – it didn’t look like it did for the Rhubarb Crumble and the Blueberry Crumble. It seemed weird, so I added an extra 1/2 cup of flour, just to be sure – but I couldn’t figure out why it seemed thinner. Into the pan it went, on went the topping, into the oven it went, I go to check the recipe. Aha – there’s the problem. Ugh! I put in 2/3 cup flour (plus the 1/2 cup later) when it should have been 2-2/3 cups! Ugh and ugh! Too late. Oh well – we’ll see what happens. Lesson learned – even after all these years of baking – check the recipe BEFORE you put it in the pan. Duh.

Did I mention that the topping is the best part? I did? Ok.

Here’s what happened in the oven. It’s a bit flatter than usual, and the top is a bit weird looking, but it seemed to come out ok.

This is how to cover the big mistake – sift a bit of powdered sugar on top! No one will ever know! And it’s so pretty!

See? Once it’s cut and served up on the plate, you and all your guests can just enjoy the cake as usual with a nice cup of coffee (or tea), and nobody needs to know there was ever a problem. Even though I told my husband about my leaving out some flour, I left the cake out so he could have a piece for breakfast the next morning. He left me a note that simply said, “Awesome!” Apparently no harm done, and that’s his totally unbiased opinion of exactly how delicious this cake is! Make this Apple Crumble, put in the right amount of ingredients, and let your friends and family enjoy the cake AND delicious (Minnesota) apples at the same time!

 

 

 

 


6 responses to “Apple Crumble

  1. […] original recipe for Rhubarb Crumble, from which I have made variations of Blueberry Crumble and Apple Crumble.  This crumble is such a versatile cake. You can change the fruits and the nuts to use whatever is […]

  2. […] recipe I’ve used before, starting with Rhubarb Crumble, Peach Crumble, Blueberry Crumble, and Apple Crumble. Holy cow – this is such a good one. That’s why I’ve tried it with what is now […]

  3. […] first making that, I’ve also changed the recipe just a bit and made a Blueberry Crumble, Apple Crumble, Peach Crumble, and Cranberry Crumble. I thought it was time I tried a pumpkin one. While I love […]

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

The New Vintage Kitchen

A Vermont innkeeper's collection of seasonal vintage recipes, reimagined for today's cooks.

Convivial Supper

Recipes from the Past

Cooking Without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

EASYBAKED

a collection of recipes